Oh, Ramadan come forth!

Image result for bismillah calligraphy

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Asalaamalaikum(Peace be on you), 

Ramadan is literary around the corner. 

To those who don’t know, Ramadan is the blessed month for Muslims according to the Lunar calendar where they fast for the entire month as it brings with it infinite blessings.

I absolutely love Ramadan.

When I would say that say 5 years ago, I could easily read people’s expression of ‘you spend it in Saudi during your Summer Vacation, that sure is easy for you to say’ but even since the past 3 years when I went everyday to college low on sleep, whilst fasting I still did love Ramadan, Alhamdulillah. 

It was a completely different experience to sew daily life with Ramadan routine, which I know is the normal for just about everybody.

There is just this wonderful vibe in the air, which motivates you to work diligently towards your Deen. 

It is a month of training to adapt to a healthy and righteous lifestyle. 

Image result for ramadan quotes tumblr

Saudi Arabia is the best dish served in Ramadan. I have said that before and I will keep saying it.

There is no other place to be than in the Kingdom during Ramadan, especially few years back when I was in school and Ramadan would fall right in between summer vacations.

Those were some really wonderful days, Alhamdulillah.

Many argue that though the turnouts in Mosques in Ramadan is over whelming it is only temporary, well at least it’s a start, we never know whose hearts will turn for good this Ramadan. 

For instance, I hadn’t been very regular with my Fajr until I was in 9th grade. Following Ramadan in the same year, after realizing how praying Fajr on a daily basis changed your day positively, I resolved to make it a habit, which Alhamdulillah I still try to stick to. 

I still remember being so proud and happy, when I made through my first benchmark of making through one week without missing Fajr even for a day. 

Baby steps, always. 

FUN FACT – I was struck with the idea of starting this blog last Ramadan and only after Eid could muster courage to publish my first post. It’s been close to a year! So hard to believe. 

I cannot leave without talking about food, it’s been a while since we did that. 

So, here’s a new dish that I whipped out my own mind, and decided to call it, Chicken Lettuce Rolls(Very basic and descriptive, I know). 

DSC_1217.JPG

T’is  finely chopped chicken and veggies of your choice(I took carrots, beans and capsicum) stir fried with salt and pepper, then simply mixed with ketchup and mayo and served wrapped in Lettuce. 

Tada!

That is very simple, but also very delicious.

My trial batch was gone pretty much as soon as they were served, indicating the approval. 

I also happened to try the Manaak’esh from Shobak, which is a pretty popular outlet here. 

Manaak’esh is a flat pie bread baked with variety of toppings. Yes, an Arabic pizza of sorts.

And I was pretty impressed with Manak’eesh there, so much so, I have had it twice already. 

Also, of late I have been obsessed with milkshakes since back when I had exams, and I had even made one (Link here). 

Like, I wouldn’t mind having a milkshake, right now too.

I will be back soon with more Ramadan chatter, InshaAllah and I will keep it very comprehensive so that neither of our time gets unreasonably wasted. 

I hope you have a great week ahead! 

Until Next Time! 

Salamaalaikum!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

