Eid Ul Fitr 1438!

Image result for bismillah calligraphy

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful 

Asalaamalaikum(Peace be on you),


EID MUBARAK! 

I am awfully late, I know. 

You have probably even forgotten that it was Eid a week back.

I am extremely sorry for being so late.

Especially when the Eid post marks one year of our relationship as a writer and reader, my first post ever being Eid ul Fitr 1437!.

If you’ve been following me on Instagram, you may know that I was travelling right after Eid and not on a holiday, even now I am not really home but couldn’t delay this any further. 

The past two weeks have been nothing short of a roller coaster ride, as the last 10 days inched to an end and we had to bid goodbye to Ramadan for another year with a heavy heart, followed by the bitter sweet joy of Eid preparations and finally the Eid day itself. 

Alhamdulillah, I had a blessed time this year. 

We didn’t have an exotic getaway or a picnic or a lavish spread at a fancy restaurant, but simply the flocking in of our cousins and their company which made my Eid so warm and beautiful. 

I was exhausted, but it was all totally worth it.

I had slept barely an hour or two the night before Eid because well, our sleep schedules were upturned, the time post Fajr when Eid prayer is performed was the time I would usually slip into the deep sleep. 

Another reason why, I couldn’t sleep was because I was busy prepping for this the night before. 

DSC_1350.JPG


I am not a very artsy person, so it might not be something spectacular but I tried. 

Also, the handwriting in the banner isn’t mine. 

DSC_1355.JPG

There were chocolates for kids which didn’t garner much attention, thanks to the lovely cake my cousin baked and brought in.

DSC_1334
Eid Ul Fitr is incomplete without Sheer Khurma or Sevaiyaan or whatever you call it! 

 

DSC_1319.JPG

This is a picture I managed to snap quickly before serving the guests, I had no time for an elaborate shoot, sorry! 

Thanks to my travel, I haven’t had much Sheer Khurma myself this year, so to all those reading, I hope you get the hint. 

Just kidding, just the way the delicacies made for Iftaar feel extra special only during Ramadan, Sheer Khurma prepared for Eid feels special only then. 

If saying goodbye to Ramadan wasn’t painful enough, taking down the Ramadan and Eid decor officially marked the end of the festivities.

DSC_1435.JPG

We strung these banners and lights on our threshold and brought in much curiosity among the locals here with the Arab flavour of Ramadan we had brought from Saudi.

A lot of my cousins who were familiar with the Ramadan decor were delighted and who didn’t know were amazed to learn something new. 

I was pretty ardent this year to apply henna myself, but applying mehendi the same day leaves you with a lighter shade on the day. Also, excuse the design I am an extreme amateur in these matters, also this was very rushed. 

All in all, Eid was done well, Alhamdulillah.

But, there comes a time post Eid, when the month long festive vibes and tranquility of the month ends and you are in a slight sense of disarray as you forget what life was before Ramadan and how Ramadan leaves behind a hole with yearning for the next Ramadan. 

I hope all of you had a wonderful time this Eid! 

May Allah help us keep our bond with Him fervent even after Ramadan. Ameen.

Also, since it’s our first anniversary, thank you so much to everyone reading this, it’s your constant support which keeps me going. 


We still have a long way to go, together InshaAllah. 

Have an amazing week ahead! 

Until Next Time!

Salaamalaikum! 

Leave a Reply

